Formula E Grand Prix Launches in Monaco

The first fully electric car series takes to Monaco’s world-famous racing circuit

On 9th May 2015, Monaco, one of the world’s most iconic racing destinations will host the first Formula E Grand Prix. The Formula E is a new FIA single-seater championship and the world’s first fully electric car racing series.

Formula E focuses around three core values of energy, environment and entertainment. It is a fusion of engineering, technology, sport, science and design – all combining to drive the change towards an electric future.

For season one, Formula E includes 10 teams, each driving four Spark-Renault SRT_01E Formula E cars (two per driver), which will go head-to-head in creating a unique and exciting racing series designed to appeal to a new generation of motor sport fans.

The eagerly anticipated race will take place on Monaco’s famous Grand Prix circuit, which includes instantly recognisable highlights such as the famous ‘hairpin’ bend. It will also take in the principality’s other iconic sights including the Casino Monte-Carlo, the world-famous marina with its luxurious super yachts moored next to the new Yacht Club de Monaco for the first time.

Monaco has a long running history in hosting some of the most prestigious car launches and races, annually attracting a glamorous crowd of spectators from across the globe. It remains one of the most exciting destinations for the sport with the traditional Formula 1 Grand Prix due to take place from 21 – 24 May this year. Monaco is however looking ahead to the future of the sport and is already leading the way in advanced electric engineering technology with pioneering racing teams, such as Venturi, choosing to base themselves in the principality. Venturi, a leader in high performance electric vehicles currently holds the land speed record for an electric vehicle (307mph) and is co-founded by award-winning actor Leonardo DiCaprio and Gildo Pallanca Pastor.

The 2014/2015 FIA Formula E Championship will be contested over nine rounds taking place on city-centre circuits around the globe including Miami, London and Berlin. Monaco will be the 8th round of the 2014/2015 championship. All rounds will be one-day events with practice, qualifying and the race-taking place in a single day in order to reduce costs and minimise disruption to the host city.

From season two, Formula E will operate as an ‘open championship’, allowing teams and manufacturers the opportunity to showcase their own electrical energy innovations. Working to the technical specifications set out by the FIA, teams will focus their efforts on improving and developing powertrains and battery technology, with the aim of this filtering into the everyday electric vehicle market. /